About Jilin Province

The Administrative Divisions

        There are 8 cities, 1 municipality, 60 counties (cities, districts), 765 townships (towns), and 241 street offices. The capital of the province is Changchun.

Cinque Terre Click to view larger version

Geographic Location

        Jilin Province is located 40’521-46’181 north latitude and 121’381-131’191 east longitude, about 600 kilometers wide from north to south and 750 kilometers long from east to west, bounded by Liaoning Province to the south, Inner Mongolian Autonomous Region to the west and Heilongjiang Province to the north, bordering Russia to the east and, to the southeast, separated by a river, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea. It has a 1,438.7-kilometer border line, of which 1,206 kilometers are between China and DPRK and 232.7 between China and Russia. Hunchun, a city at the easternmost point of the province is only 15 kilometers away from the Sea of Japan and four kilometers from Russia’s Poset Bay.

Climatic Features

        Situated at mid-latitude in the eastern side of the Eurasian Continent, Jilin Province has a continental monsoon climate of the temperate zone. There are four distinctive seasons in the province with rainfall and hot weather occurring in the same season. It is dry and windy in spring, hot and rainy in summer, in fall the sky is clear and the air is crisp, in winter it is cold and long. From the southeast to the northwest, the climate shifts from humid, semi-humid to semi-dry climate. The temperature, rainfall, wind and natural disasters vary greatly in different seasons and places within the province. If the climate is normal, the amount of sunshine, heat, and rainfall are enough to meet the needs for farming.

Harmonious Multi-ethnic

        The total population of the province is 27.2982 million (2007), of which urban residents accounts for 53.16% and rural for 46.84%. This multi-ethnic province is the home to 49 ethnic groups including Koreans, Mans, Mongols, Huis, and Xibos.